The Los Angeles Galaxy traveled to face the Portland Timbers in the rain-drenched Portland for the NBC game of the week. After pausing slightly to digest that unsurprising fact, know the Galaxy got a late equalizer which was disallowed. The Galaxy dropped 3 points, and fell into a tie at 45 points for the 4th and 5th playoff spots of the 5 teams which qualify for the playoffs in the Western Conference.
In the 90th minute, Landon Donovan won a free kick outside the corner of the 18 yard box. His in-swinging cross was met by Irish Captain Robbie Keane who delivered a brilliant glancing header into the top near-post corner. Immediately the linesman put up his flag for offsides, and the goal was disallowed. Robbie Keane went ballistic. Donovan joined him right in the face if the assistant referee, and with his arms outstretched Bruce Arena marched down the sideline to join in.
To be fair, Robbie Keane appeared to be offsides. He couldn’t hold up his run enough, and was leaning in offside position.
Watch the video and see for yourself. Fast forward to 5:40 for the disallowed goal.
Robbie Keane is not just the Galaxy Captain, but he’s an international soccer star. He not only thought the call for the game tying goal was straight up wrong, but he felt personally insulted. ‘How could you call that on Robbie Keane?’ is how he acts. In other sports, leagues, scenarios he would ‘get the call.’ He was furious.
The Galaxy are still 4 points clear of 6th place Vancouver Whitecaps with one month of soccer remaining before the playoffs. But this could loom as a big decision for the Galaxy if they miss out on the playoffs and their chance for an MLS Cup 3-Peat.